Together We Caught Fire

Available Now

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Books-A-Million | Bookshop | IndieBound | Goodreads

Signed copies available from Winchester Book Gallery

Lane Jamison’s life is turned upside down the week before her senior year when her father introduces her to his new fiancée: mother of Grey McIntyre, Lane’s longtime secret crush. Now with Grey living in Lane’s house, there’s only a thin wall separating their rooms, making it harder and harder to deny their growing mutual attraction—an attraction made all the more forbidden by Grey’s long-term girlfriend Sadie Hall, who also happens to be Lane’s friend.

Torn between her feelings for Grey and her friendship with Sadie—not to mention her desire to keep the peace at home—Lane befriends Sadie’s older brother, Connor, the black sheep of the strict, evangelical Hall family. Connor, a metalworking artist who is all sharp edges, challenges Lane in ways no one else ever has. As the two become closer and start to open up about the traumas in their respective pasts, Lane begins to question her conviction that Connor is just a distraction.

Tensions come to a head after a tragic incident at a party, forcing Lane to untangle her feelings for both boys and face the truth of what—and who—she wants, in this gripping and stunningly romantic debut novel.


Flawed and fully fleshed out, the characters attempt to navigate their lives as best they can with the baggage they each carry . . . The writing is captivating and fluid—easily switching from lyrical and dreamy to raw and violent . . . An addictive page-turner that begins with a forbidden romance but turns into so much more.” — Kirkus Reviews

“Gibson’s debut novel is stunning in its total honesty . . . Fans of Kathleen Glasgow and Nina LaCour will appreciate this sometimes lyrical, sometimes brutal, always unflinching portrayal of a girl struggling with her past in order to find her future. — School Library Journal

With prose so striking that each dangerous, delectable sentence feels like a treat, TOGETHER WE CAUGHT FIRE is a book that doesn’t hold back. Even when the characters travel to their darkest places, there is an undeniable spark of light, of hope, at the center. I loved this gritty, bold debut.” — Rachel Lynn Solomon, author of Our Year of Maybe and You’ll Miss Me When I’m Gone