A Booklist Review of the Day and Best New Books selection!

Amazon | Barnes & Noble |Books-A-Million |Bookshop | IndieBound | Goodreads

Signed copies available from Winchester Book Gallery

Told in two interwoven timelines—the summer when everything changed, and the summer that changes everything—Where Secrets Lie is a seductive thriller as dark as it is enthralling.

Amy Larsen has spent every summer with her cousin Ben and their best friend Teddy in River Run, Kentucky, loving country life and welcoming the break from her intensive ambitions and overbearing mother—until the summer she and Teddy confront the changing feelings and simmering sexual tension growing between them, destroying the threesome’s friendship in a dramatic face-off.

One year later, Amy returns to River Run dreading what she might find. But when Teddy’s sister disappears, Amy, Ben and Teddy agree to put aside their differences to search for her. As they dig deeper into the dark history of their small town, all three friends must unearth the truths that tie their families to tragedy, cope with their own toxic upbringings and beliefs, and atone for the damage done to each other and themselves.


“Rich in imagery and descriptive language, brushed with a touch of Southern Gothic . . . the emotional pitch and nuanced details add to the agonizing suspense of this gorgeous and satisfying thriller.” Booklist ⭐ Starred Review

“Refreshingly incisive, this is a poignant, accessible exploration of intergenerational trauma, chosen family, and class privilege with gripping suspense at its center . . . A richly layered coming-of-age novel built upon a foundation of conscience.” Kirkus Reviews

“Gibson’s prose is pure fire, bringing to light class disparities and tortured passion. . . . This twisty, sultry mystery will grip you till the bitter end. .” — Alex Richards, author of Accidental and When We Were Strangers

Where Secrets Lie is a twisty, emotional thriller that follows three teens whose friendship is tested by family histories, first love, class differences and an unthinkable crime. Readers will be caught up in the currents of its spell – wanting to savor Gibson’s rich, atmospheric writing, while being unable to stop turning pages as quickly as possible to find out what happens next. Haunting and unputdownable.” Shannon Takaoka, author of Everything I Thought I Knew

As the complications of first love and friendship unfold amid unspeakable trauma, a small-town family scrambles to preserve their image. Gibson’s stunning prose and true-to-life characters make Where Secrets Lie a riveting thriller that pulls you under and keeps you guessing until the very end. This book reveals how sparkling surfaces often conceal the darkest secrets buried underneath. An addictive page-turner perfect for fans of Karen M. McManus and Gillian Flynn.”Jennifer Moffett, author of Those Who Prey

A fast-paced, gorgeously written thriller that deftly explores class, privilege and intergenerational family secrets. A must-read for fans of Courtney Summers, Kara Thomas, and dark, twisty YA.” — Liz Lawson, author of The Lucky Ones

Where Secrets Lie is a gripping mystery written with a poet’s artistry. You’ll fall in love with Amy, Teddy, Ben and the beautiful but haunted River Run. Eva V. Gibson’s not afraid to probe the dark depths of our emotional rivers.” —Shana Youngdahl, author of As Many Nows as I Can Get